TOP Award

Senator Lisa Murkowski Announced as Breakthrough's 2017 TOP Award Recipient


We are proud to announce that Breakthrough’s 2017 TOP Award will go to Senator Lisa Murkowski.

Breakthrough’s vision is a future that is good for people and for nature. Such a future is only possible if our leaders have the talent, optimism, and pragmatism to create positive and lasting change in the world. In that spirit, the TOP Award recognizes public servants, entrepreneurs, activists, and thought leaders who exemplify these qualities.

Recipients of the TOP Award are chosen in recognition of their commitment to work across the aisle, push back against tribal ideology and litmus tests, and find ways to do good for everyone.

Senator Murkowski has been an exemplary public servant, passionately committed to representing Alaska in the U.S. Senate. She is chair of the Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee and a member of the Senate Appropriations, Indian Affairs, and Health, Education, Labor and Pensions committees.

In particular, we wish to honor Senator Murkowski’s commitment to energy innovation. From her support for innovation programs like the Advanced Research Projects Agency - Energy (ARPA-E) to her leadership on reform to nuclear innovation system in the United States, Senator Murkowski is one of the most important and influential voices in a generation in efforts to transition to cheaper, cleaner, more modern energy technologies. Under both Republican and Democratic leadership, she has worked across the aisle and advocated for increased and improved federal investments in the next generation of U.S. energy technology and entrepreneurship.